When we established The David Gemmell Legend Award For Fantasy it was with the intention of subsequently introducing further award categories to cover other aspects of the fantasy genre. We are now pleased to announce two new, additional awards, to be presented at next year’s ceremony. They are -

‘The Morningstar Award for Best Newcomer’


‘The Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art’

The Morningstar Award will give recognition to emerging talent in the field of fantasy fiction. As David Gemmell always took a keen interest in new writers, and helped many onto the path to publication, we regard this as an appropriate category to add, and one we feel sure David would have approved.

The Ravenheart Award will honour the best fantasy book cover art. The importance of fantasy cover art deserves admiration, as do the artists who produce it, yet there is no major UK award acknowledging this. The Ravenheart Award will fulfil that role.

Like the Legend Award, the winners of these new awards, for best debut author and best cover/artist, will be decided by popular vote. The first Legend Award, for best fantasy novel of the year, presented at a ceremony in London in June of this year, garnered an incredible 11,000 votes from around the world. We are confident that the Morningstar and Ravenheart awards, will be greeted with no less enthusiasm.

The 2010 David Gemmell Awards ceremony will again be held at The Magic Circle headquarters in London, on Friday 18th June.

On a personal note to our faithful website Members, we'd like to thank-you all for the wonderful support you have shown the DGLA thus far, and we hope that you're all as pleased and excited as we are about these new additions to our fold!

Best wishes
Debbie, Stan & Gareth

EDITED TO ADD: I have posted the criteria for each of the categories as a PDF for anyone who is interested to download (In the right-hand column under 'New Downloads') We have kept the rules a straightforward as possible!

Views: 90

Comment by ediFanoB on November 2, 2009 at 18:50
Really exciting news! Thank you Debbie, Stand and Gareth. I look forward to the 2009 nominations.
Comment by Paul on November 2, 2009 at 20:07
Great idea!
Comment by Greyweather on November 2, 2009 at 21:43
So theoretically a novel could be nominated for all three awards?

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of The David Gemmell Legend Awards to add comments!

© 2019   Created by Deborah J Miller - Award Administrator.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service